Books

Being Fishkill

By Ruth Lehrer

Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need be — until a thwarted lunch theft introduces her to strange, sunny Duck-Duck and a chance for a new start.

Born in the backseat of a moving car, Carmel Fishkill was unceremoniously pushed into a world that refuses to offer her security, stability, love. At age thirteen, she begins to fight back. Carmel Fishkill becomes Fishkill Carmel, who deflects her tormenters with a strong left hook and conceals her secrets from teachers and social workers. But Fishkill’s fierce defenses falter when she meets eccentric optimist Duck-Duck Farina, and soon they, along with Duck-Duck’s mother, Molly, form a tentative family, even as Fishkill struggles to understand her place in it. This fragile new beginning is threatened by the reappearance of Fishkill’s unstable mother — and by unfathomable tragedy. Poet Ruth Lehrer’s young adult debut is a stunning, revelatory look at what defines and sustains “family.” And, just as it does for Fishkill, meeting Duck-Duck Farina and her mother will leave readers forever changed.

  • An incredibly affecting and extremely contemporary forensic examination of "family." It isn't always about biology.
  • For readers who liked Tell the Wolves I'm Home, The Death of Bees, Ellen Foster, Girls Like Us
  • A heart-breaker, a sob-worthy read, a story that takes an utterly unexpected, devastating turn. Teens will love it.

About the author

Ruth Lehrer is a poet, author, and American Sign Language interpreter. She lives in the woods of western Massachusetts.

ISBN: 9780763684426
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: February 1, 2018
Dimensions: 139 x 209mm, 320pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $24.99
New Zealand RRP: $27.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 06/02/18 at 00:27:24
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.