Before After

By Matthias Arégui, Anne-Margot Ramstein
Illustrated by Matthias Arégui, Anne-Margot Ramstein

A beautiful, smart and graphic picture book that explores the theme of before and after.

Everyone knows that a tiny acorn into a mighty oak grows, and a caterpillar emerges into a butterfly. But in this clever, visually enchanting volume, it’s also true that a cow can result in both a bottle of milk and a painting of a cow, and an ape in a jungle may become an urban King Kong. Just as day turns into night and back again, a many-tiered cake is both created and eaten down to a single piece. With simple, graphic illustrations sure to appeal to even the youngest of children, this smart exploration of the fascinating theme of before and after will please the most discerning adult readers, too.

  • Author-illustrators, Matthias Ar gui Margot and Anne-Ramstein explore a contrasting graphic universe in this beautiful picture book.
  • Subtle hints to classic nursery tales and narratives of a developing civilization make this more than just a simple "before and after" series of illustrations.

About the author

Anne-Margot Ramstein studied illustration in the Ecole des Arts Décoratifs in Strasbourg. Her first book was released in March 2011 (Illuminations of Albert Einstein published by Little Platons). She has also produced illustrations for various publications and has exhibited her designs in Strasbourg, Boston and Philadelphia. Find her online at

About the illustrator

Matthias Arégui is currently working on his first comic book. He has also had two stories published in the journal Beautiful Illustrations. Anne-Raimstein and Matthias have previously worked together on The ABC of Hassle, which was published in October 2011. Find Matthias online at

ISBN: 9781406357936
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: October 1, 2014
Dimensions: 170 x 250mm, 176pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $27.99
New Zealand RRP: $29.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 19/06/18 at 01:15:04
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.