Books

Backwards

By Todd Mitchell

An edge-of-your-seat thriller asks: Is it possible to fix a tragic future by changing the past — while experiencing life backwards?

At the moment Dan’s life ends, the Rider’s begins. Unwillingly tied to Dan, who seems to be shuffling through life, the Rider finds himself moving backwards in time, each day revealing more of the series of events that led to Dan’s suicide. As the Rider struggles to figure out what he’s meant to do, he revels in the life Dan ignores. Beyond the simple pleasures of a hot shower and the sun on his face, the Rider also notices the people around Dan: his little sister, always disappointed by her big brother’s rejection, and his overwhelmed mom, who can never rely on Dan for help. Most of all, the Rider notices Cat with her purple hair, artistic talent, and misfit beauty. But Cat doesn’t want anything to do with Dan, paying attention instead to popular football player Finn. As the days move in reverse and Halloween looms, Cat becomes the center of the Rider’s world — until the Rider finds out the shocking reason why Cat is so angry with Dan. Can the Rider make things right before it’s too late?

  • An exhilarating, edge-of-your-seat teen thriller that spirals in reverse order to a final, unforgettable dawning moment that answers that crucial question associated with tragedy and loss: why.
  • A disarmingly original and funny voice in YA.
  • In the vein of If I Stay, Before I Fall, and 13 Reasons Why.

About the author

Todd Mitchell is the author of The Secret to Lying, as well as other novels for young people. He lives in Fort Collins, Colorado.

ISBN: 9780763662776
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: January 1, 2014
Dimensions: 139 x 209mm, 288pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $24.99
New Zealand RRP: $27.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 19/06/18 at 01:14:57
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.