Books

Baba Yaga's Assistant

By Marika McCoola
Illustrated by Emily Carroll

“This graphic novel deserves to just be savored as an old story yanked into modernity and told with aplomb.”Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

Most children think twice before braving a haunted wood filled with terrifying beasties to match wits with a witch, but not Masha. Her beloved grandma taught her many things: that stories are useful, that magic is fickle, that nothing is too difficult or too dirty to clean. The fearsome witch of folklore needs an assistant, and Masha needs an adventure. She may be clever enough to enter Baba Yaga’s house-on-chicken-legs, but to earn her place, Masha must pass a series of tests, outfox a territorial bear, and make dinner for her host. No easy task, with children on the menu! A New York Times bestseller, Marika McCoola’s spooky and poignant debut — featuring richly layered art by acclaimed graphic artist Emily Carroll — is a storytelling feat and a visual feast.

  • Now in paperback, an exciting graphic novel with themes including intergenerational bonds, stepfamilies, updated Russian folklore/fairy tale, self-reliance, and conquering fear and doubt
  • Spectacular graphic illustration from an artist with a growing cult following, a popular webcomic/online presence, and an authentic gift for interpreting traditional/fairy tale material in a wholly modern way
  • Poignant and funny with just a hint of spooky, this is a great choice for fans of Smile, Anya's Ghost, The Witch Boy, and other middle-grade / YA comics with a coming-of-age vibe

About the author

Marika McCoola has an MA in writing for children from Simmons College and is a former children’s book buyer at an independent bookstore in Massachusetts. Baba Yaga’s Assistant marks her publishing debut. She lives in Massachusetts.

About the illustrator

Emily Carroll is the author-illustrator of the acclaimed and best-selling graphic story collection Through the Woods, as well as numerous web comics. She lives in Stratford, Ontario.

ISBN: 9781536213102
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: June 1, 2020
Dimensions: 151 x 215mm, 136pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $19.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 01/12/19 at 22:28:43
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.