Books

Baba Yaga's Assistant

By Marika McCoola
Illustrated by Emily Carroll

Russian folklore icon Baba Yaga mentors a lonely teen in a wry graphic novel that balances gleefully between the modern and the timeless.

Most children think twice before braving a haunted wood filled with terrifying beasties to match wits with a witch, but not Masha. Her beloved grandma taught her many things: that stories are useful, that magic is fickle, that nothing is too difficult or too dirty to clean. The fearsome witch of folklore needs an assistant, and Masha needs an adventure. She may be clever enough to enter Baba Yaga’s house-on-chicken-legs, but within its walls, deceit is the rule. To earn her place, Masha must pass a series of tests, outfox a territorial bear, and make dinner for her host. No easy task, with children on the menu! Spooky and poignant, Marika McCoola’s stunning debut—with richly layered art by acclaimed graphic artist Emily Carroll—is a storytelling feat and a visual feast.

  • An exciting literary debut for this graphic novelist, with themes including intergenerational bonds, stepfamilies, updated Russian folklore/fairy tale, self-reliance, and conquering fear and doubt
  • Spectacular, full colour graphic illustration from an artist with a growing cult following, a popular webcomic/online presence, and an authentic gift for interpreting traditional/fairy tale material in a wholly modern way.
  • Poignant and funny with just a hint of spooky, this is a great choice for fans of Smile, Ghostopolis, Anya's Ghost, and other middle-grade to young adult comics with a coming-of-age vibe.

About the author

Marika McCoola has an MA in writing for children from Simmons College and is a former children’s book buyer at an independent bookstore in Massachusetts. Baba Yaga’s Assistant marks her publishing debut. She lives in Massachusetts.

About the illustrator

Emily Carroll is the author-illustrator of the acclaimed and best-selling graphic story collection Through the Woods, as well as numerous web comics. She lives in Stratford, Ontario.

ISBN: 9780763669614
Imprint: Candlewick
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: August 1, 2015
Dimensions: 151 x 215mm, 136pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $24.99
New Zealand RRP: $27.99
Stock Level: Out Of Stock

Last updated on 12/01/20 at 23:03:01
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.