Books

Anthony and the Gargoyle

By Jo Ellen Bogart
Illustrated by Maja Kastelic

A boy befriends a baby gargoyle in this magical wordless story from award-winning creators Jo Ellen Bogart and Maja Kastelic.

Anthony wakes up one morning to find his favorite rock has cracked open – and it’s hollow! He discovers a strange-looking hatchling inside, and the two become fast friends. When Anthony asks his mother where the rock came from, she shows him photos from their trip to Paris, including of Notre-Dame cathedral, with its familiar-looking forms perched on top. Could Anthony’s new friend be a gargoyle? This magical wordless story is brought to life in stunning, silent, hand-painted panels, and is a touching tale of true friendship and letting go.

  • A beautiful addition to our growing list of wonderful wordless picture books. For fans of Footpath Flowers, Aaron Becker's Journey trilogy, Owl, Bat, Bat, Owl, Over the Shop, and other silent narratives.
  • Atmospheric and sublime; readers will be transported to Paris and the world of the Notre-Dame gargoyles.

About the author

Jo Ellen Bogart has written many children’s books, including The White Cat and the Monk, illustrated by Sydney Smith. It was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award, longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, a New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books selection, a New York Times Editors’ Choice, and a USBBY Outstanding International Book. She lives in Ontario, Canada. Find her online on Twitter as @JoEllenBogart, on Instagram as @joellenbogart and at joellenbogart.com.

About the illustrator

Maja Kastelic restored frescoes before becoming a children’s book author and illustrator. Her wordless picture book A Boy and a House was selected for the Bologna Illustrators Exhibition, the White Ravens Catalogue, Kirkus Best Wordless Picture Books and the IBBY Honour List. Maja lives in Trebnje, Slovenia. Find her on Instagram as @majakastelicillustration.

ISBN: 9781529505979
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: February 2, 2022
Dimensions: 222 x 267mm, 48pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $27.99
New Zealand RRP: $29.99
Stock Level: Not Yet Published

Last updated on 03/08/21 at 01:24:02
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.