Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

By Lewis Carroll
Illustrated by Robert Ingpen

A brand-new picture book edition of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, written by Lewis Carroll and illustrated by award-winning Australian illustrator Robert Ingpen, for young children.

From the moment that Alice tumbles down the rabbit hole, she leads us on a fantastical, dream-like journey where we meet a host of unforgettable characters. Retold here in abridged form for children to read as well as to enjoy as a bedtime story, Alice’s adventures are brought to life by the beautiful illustrations of award-winning artist Robert Ingpen.

  • Includes a 10,000-word adapted text of this timeless classic.
  • This edition includes more than 50 stunning illustrations by Robert Ingpen, each reflecting his unique style and extraordinary imagination in visualising this enchanting story.
  • "Lewis Carroll, we could say, created the whole of children’s literature with these wonderful stories. Placing a child at the centre of a narrative that was entirely free of instruction, entirely devoted to delight, was a stroke of genius. The Alices are the greatest nonsense ever written, and far greater, in my view, than most sense." Philip Pullman

About the author

Lewis Carroll, the pen name of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, was born in Cheshire, England. On publication, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland became a worldwide sensation, beloved by children and adults alike.

About the illustrator

Robert Ingpen was born in 1936 in Geelong, Australia and still lives and works nearby in Barwon Heads. He studied illustration art and book design at The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. In 1986, he was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal for his contribution to children’s literature and he has been honoured with Membership of the Order of Australia. His highly acclaimed series of illustrated Children’s Classics have now been published in many editions around the world. The titles in the series are: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Alice Through the Looking-Glass, Around the World in Eighty Days, Just So Stories, Peter Pan and Wendy, The Adventures of Pinocchio, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, The Jungle Book, The Nutcracker, The Secret Garden, The Wind in the Willows, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Treasure Island.

ISBN: 9781760650780
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Dimensions: 216 x 260mm, 64pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $29.99
New Zealand RRP: $32.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 03/05/21 at 00:14:23
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.