Books

Alan's Big, Scary Teeth

By Jarvis
Illustrated by Jarvis

An alligator who snaps, becomes an alligator who th-naps in this hilarious, heart-warming story of making new friends and discovering who you really are.

The Winner of the 2017 V&A Best Illustrated Book Award Meet Alan, an alligator with a secret. Famed for his big, scary teeth, he sneaks into the jungle every day to scare the jungle animals ... “I’m big, scary Alan! Fear my razor-sharp teeth!” But after a long day of scaring, Alan likes nothing better than to run a warm mud bath and take out his false teeth, which nobody knows about! That is, until his teeth go missing. What will Alan do now? Scaring is the only thing he knows how to do! Can he still be scary without them? A goofy comedy of self-discovery, witty, warm-hearted storytelling and bright graphic art will make this (and Alan!) a firm children’s book favourite.

  • A picture book comedy, and a debut to our list from a thrilling, very funny new talent.
  • Perfect for family story time! Parents can become just like Alan the big, scary storyteller, thrilling their little ones by reading aloud this hilarious, toothless tale.
  • Jarvis quirky, original comedy and bright, vibrant art will appeal to fans of Chris Haughton, Jon Klassen and Jean Jullien.

About the author

Jarvis studied graphic design and previously worked as both a record sleeve designer and an animation director before becoming a children's book illustrator. Alan's Big Scary Teeth is his debut title with Walker. About his picture book inspiration, Jarvis says, "The way I work is always visual. I will have an image or character in mind and I pull a story out of it. I doodle and doodle and doodle until I get it right." Jarvis lives in Manchester with his girlfriend and their cat. Find him on Twitter as @heyimjarvis.

ISBN: 9781406370805
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: June 1, 2016
Dimensions: 280 x 255mm, 32pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 05/04/21 at 22:17:37
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.