Books

A Single Stone

By Meg McKinlay

**eBook Edition** Middle grade fiction with dystopian elements. Challenging and thought-provoking; affecting and beautifully crafted.

Every girl dreams of being part of the line – the chosen seven who tunnel deep into the mountain to find the harvest. Jena is the leader of the line – strong, respected, reliable. And – as all girls must be – she is small; years of training have seen to that. It is the way of things. A girl must wrap her limbs, lie still, deny herself a second bowl of stew. But what happens when one tiny discovery makes Jena question everything she has ever known? A Single Stone is an absorbing dystopian novel for younger readers by award-winning Australian author Meg McKinlay. This thought-provoking book deals with themes of gender and power, and is perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Isobelle Carmody and Carole Wilkinson. For more of Meg’s gripping junior fiction, read Surface Tension. www.megmckinlay.com “In almost all cases, shortness of breath is not a great feeling. In this instance, though, it was merely a symptom of good writing, and it happened as I read the opening pages of Meg McKinlay’s taut, thoughtful story about a girl who has spent most of her life squeezing through tiny passages, deep in a mountain of rock … An engaging, beautifully written novel that manages to pose big questions about gender and power, and thoroughly entertain. This is a quietly powerful, polished story. 4/5 stars.” Books+Publishing

About the author

Meg McKinlay grew up in Bendigo, Victoria, in a book-loving, TV- and car-free household. On the long and winding path to becoming a children’s writer, she has worked a variety of jobs including swim instructor, tour guide, translator and teacher. These days, she lives with her family near the ocean in Fremantle and divides her time between teaching and writing, a balance that swings wildly between chaos and calm. She is always busy cooking up more books and you can visit her on the web at www.megmckinlay.com

ISBN: 9781925126464
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia
Binding:
Release Date: May 1, 2015
Dimensions: 0 x 0mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $13.99
New Zealand RRP: $15.99
Stock Level:

Last updated on 31/10/18 at 00:13:54
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.