Books

The City of Secret Rivers

By Jacob Sager Weinstein

A hilarious fantasy adventure set in modern day London.

An exciting subterranean London adventure, the first in a middle-grade trilogy. Hyacinth Hayward has recently arrived from America and is having difficulty adjusting to her new surroundings, especially being in the sole company of her eccentric mother. Everything feels strange. Very strange. And it gets stranger the day she accidentally unleashes the power of a secret river running through London. To prevent a second Great Fire, Hyacinth needs to retrieve a single, magically charged drop of water from somewhere in the city sewer system. Along the way she encounters an eclectic cast of characters – the shambling, monstrous Saltpetre Men who kidnap her mother, the Toshers who battle for control of magical artefacts and a giant pig with whom she has a tea party. The clock is ticking – will she figure out who to trust?

  • The first in a funny and thrilling middle-grade adventure trilogy.
  • Perfect for schools and Key Stage 2 and 3 children learning about the history of London.
  • Ideal for fans of Eva Ibbotson.

About the author

Jacob Sager Weinstein is the author of four non-fiction books for adults and has written for The New Yorker, HBO and the BBC. He is also a former contributor to The Onion and has won a Writers’ Guild of America Award. The idea for City of Secret Rivers came to Jacob while walking along the Thames Embankment, as he started thinking about London's secret underground rivers and "discovered that London's history is so magical that it only takes the slightest of tweaks to make it into a fantasy story." Follow Jacob on Twitter @jacobsw. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

ISBN: 9781406368857
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 352pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 07/08/17 at 03:02:08
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.