Books

Raymie Nightingale

By Kate DiCamillo

New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving yet witty story of an unforgettable summer friendship. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson, David Almond and Katherine Rundell.

In her seventh novel, international bestselling author and twice winner of the prestigious Newbery Medal Kate DiCamillo tells a masterful story that blends pathos and humour. Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father – who has run away with a dental hygienist – will see Raymie’s picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton, but she has to compete with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante with her show-business background and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who’s determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship – and challenge them to come to each other’s rescue in unexpected ways.

  • “As wise and tough and funny as it is beautiful; this book is a reminder that courage comes in many different forms. I loved it.” Katherine Rundell
  • "A touching story about love and loss." Jacqueline Wilson
  • A perfect junior read from a beloved storyteller, with a charming new cover from award-winning illustrator David Litchfield

About the author

Kate DiCamillo is one of America’s most well-regarded storytellers, author of The Tale of Despereaux and Flora and Ulysses, both of which have been awarded the prestigious Newbery Medal; Because of Winn-Dixie, which received a Newbery Honor; The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, which won a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award; and the bestselling Mercy Watson series. Born in Philadelphia, she grew up in Florida and now lives in Minneapolis, USA, where she faithfully writes two pages a day, five days a week.

ISBN: 9781406373189
Imprint: Walker
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: May 1, 2017
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $14.99
New Zealand RRP: $16.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 22/05/17 at 00:43:05
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.