Books

Magrit

By Lee Battersby
Illustrated by Amy Daoud

A wonderfully strange yet poignant tale of accepting the truth about oneself.

Magrit lives in an abandoned cemetery. She is as forgotten as the tiny graveyard that surrounds her. One night a passing stork drops a strange bundle into the graveyard. Master Puppet, her friend and advisor, tells her it is an awful, ugly, terrible thing and that she should get rid of it. But Magrit has other ideas.

  • Lee Battersby is an award-winning author of horror and science fiction for adults. This is his first book for children.
  • Beautifully strange, unique and evocatively written, it is a story that stays with you long after the last page.
  • Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's, Coraline, David Almond and the Spooks series by Joseph Delaney.

About the author

Lee Battersby is the author of several adult novels and over 70 short stories, published in Australia, the US and Europe. His work has been praised for its consistent attention to voice and narrative muscle, and has resulted in a number of awards, including the Aurealis, Australia Shadows and Australia SF “Ditmar” gongs. Lee lives in Mandurah, Western Australia, with his wife, writer Lyn Battersby and an increasingly weird mob of kids. He’s been a stand-up comic, tennis coach, cartoonist, poet, and tax officer in previous times, and he currently works as Arts Officer for a local council, where he gets to play with artists all day. Magrit is his first novel with Walker Books Australia.

About the illustrator

After graduating from the University of Technology Sydney in 2009, Amy spent time in a handful of design studios before accepting the role as Junior Designer at Walker Books Australia in 2011. Since then, she has worked across a diverse range of genres, creating covers and internal design for junior fiction, young adult and non-fiction titles. Working as Designer today, Amy now also art directs illustrators on picture book titles from storyboard to finished art. Magrit is her first book.

ISBN: 9781925081343
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Hardback
Release Date: March 1, 2016
Dimensions: 135 x 185mm, 160pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $19.99
New Zealand RRP: $22.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 19/10/16 at 23:35:33
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.