Books

A Single Stone

By Meg McKinlay

Middle grade fiction with dystopian elements. Challenging and thought-provoking; affecting and beautifully crafted.

Every girl dreams of being part of the line - the chosen seven who tunnel deep into the mountain to find the harvest. No work is more important. Jena is the leader of the line - strong, respected, reliable. And - as all girls must be - she is small; her years of training have seen to that. It is not always easy but it is the way of the things. And so a girl must wrap her limbs, lie still, deny herself a second bowl of stew. Or a first. But what happens when one tiny discovery makes Jena question everything she has ever known? What happens when moving a single stone changes everything?

  • Beautifully written and thought-provoking, it deals with themes of conformity, belief systems, manipulation and what happens when belief systems are challenged. A novel that stays with you.
  • Meg's previous novel, Surface Tension, won the Best Young Fiction category of the 2012 Davitt Awards. Meg has been short-listed for the CBCA awards on three occasions.
  • Perfect for fans of Emily Rodda, Tamora Pierce, Isobelle Carmody and Carole Wilkinson.

About the author

Meg McKinlay grew up in Bendigo, Victoria, in a book-loving, TV- and car-free household. On the long and winding path to becoming a children’s writer, she has worked a variety of jobs including swim instructor, tour guide, translator and teacher. These days, she lives with her family near the ocean in Fremantle and divides her time between teaching and writing, a balance that swings wildly between chaos and calm. She is always busy cooking up more books and you can visit her on the web at www.megmckinlay.com

ISBN: 9781925081701
Imprint: Walker Books Australia
Distributor: Walker Australia-HEDS
Binding: Paperback
Release Date: May 1, 2015
Dimensions: 129 x 198mm, 272pp
Stock Status: Confirmed
Australian RRP: $16.99
New Zealand RRP: $18.99
Stock Level: In Stock

Last updated on 19/10/16 at 23:35:33
Copyright © 2007 Walker Books Australia. All rights reserved.